Established in 1986, Galerie Leu is a second generation gallery specialized in post-war and contemporary art. For over thirty years, the Leu family has been bringing together leading international collections and accompanying collectors around the world to help them pursue their passion. The gallery was originally founded in Hamburg, by the Swedish art dealer Kerstin Leu and presented predominantly contemporary Scandinavian artists. In 1997 the gallery moved to Munich, where it expanded and developed its main areas of focus, and today, it represents such important movements as Group ZERO, Group Azimuth, Concrete Art, Pop Art, Minimalism, New European Painting and Scandinavian Art. Kerstin and Holger's son, John Mathias joint the gallery in 2006, after completing his philosophy degree and finally took over in 2014. In November 2021 the gallery relocated into a larger space, in a well-known historical building in the heart of Munich's famous art district, directly opposite the Brandhorst Collection and the Pinakothek for Modern Art. The gallery is active in both, the primary and secondary markets.

We are always seeking to purchase or receive on consignment Secondary Market Fine Art works of all media. We provide a discrete, personalized, flexible sales strategy for all consignments. Please feel free to contact us, if you are interested to sell works from your collection or need a free professional appraisal. 
The gallery does not accept any unsolicited artists' submissions. Submissions will neither be stored nor returned. Thank you for your understanding.

BVDG | Association of German Galleries

  • Selected Exhibition Views

    Am Kosttor 1997 - 2019
  • Selected exhibited artists

    Max Ackermann Pierre Alechinsky Horst Antes Carl Andre Karel Appel Jean Hans Arp Armando Arman Bernard Aubertin Donald Baechler Stephan Balkenhol Georg Baselitz Eduard Bargheer Ernst Barlach Joseph Beuys Norbert Bisky Agostino Bonalumi Andre Butzer Georges Braque Alexander Calder Enrico Castellani Eduardo Chillida Marc Chagall William N. Copley Geroge Condo Gianni Colombo Jeff Cowen Michael Croissant Tony Cragg Christo und Jean Claude Dadamaino Walter Dahn Piero Dorazio Marcel Dzama Lyonel Feininger Lucio Fontana Günther Förg Katharina Fritsch Pia Fries Günter Fruhtrunk Rupprecht Geiger Reimund Girke Karl Otto Götz Gotthard Graubner Peter Halley Keith Haring Hans Hartung Erich Heckel Damien Hirst Jörg Immendorff Horst Janssen Paul Jenkins Ager Jorn Donald Judd Wassily Kandinsky Alex Katz Ellsworth Kelly Ernst Ludwig Kirchner Anselm Kiefer Yves Klein Paul Klee Konrad Klapheck Karin Kneffel Imi Knoebel Oskar Kokoschka Yayoi Kusama Jannis Kounellis Ferdinand Kriwet David Lachapelle  Walter Leblanc Roy Lichtenstein Bengt Lindström Adolf Luther Markus Lüpertz Heinz Mack August Macke Rita McBride Marino Marini Jonathan Meese Christian Megert Joan Miro Henry Moore Francois Morellet Otto Mueller Gabriele Münter Yoshitomo Nara & Hiroshi Sugito Helmut Newton Floris Neusüss Chris Ofili Michael van Ofen Julian Opie Claes Oldenburg Hermann Max Pechstein Peter Peri A.R. Penck Elizabeth Peyton Otto Piene Pablo Picasso Pino Pinelli Camille Pissaro Sigmar Polke Marc Quinn Dieter Roth Thomas Ruff Wilhelm Sasnal Paolo Scheggi Emil Schumacher Thomas Schütte Sean Scully Jan Schoonhoven Turi Simeti Daniel Spoerri Frank Stella Thomas Struth Jean Tinguely Niele Toroni Rosemarie Trockel Tal R Robert Rauschenberg Anselm Reyle Gerhard Richter Herb Ritts Dieter Roth Günther Uecker Lesser Ury Bernard Venet Jef Verheyen Nanda Vigo Cornelius Völker Albert Watson Andy Warhol Matthias Weischer René Wirths Erwin Wurm Paloma Varga Weisz Ai Weiwei Herbert Zangs